writing

127 Extracted Words – The Tease

April 2024

 

 

I write short fiction, flash fiction, essays and novels. This month’s Tease is from an essay in progress.

The list scrolls down my Surface 4 like a nondescript cascade of 5th District primary candidates. Well, in actuality, this is a list of 5th District primary candidates.

Ann Marie Danimus

Carmela Conroy

Jonathan Bingle

Terri Cooper

Brian Dansel

John Guenther

Rene’ Holaday

Jacquelin Maycumber

Jody Spurgeon

Michael Baumgartner

Matthew Gilde

Quite frankly, there’s only one name on that list I know (unfortunately).

Baumgartner. Career politician.

It took all of two seconds for his candidacy to arise after CMR announced her retirement.

I can’t help but sense danger on this list. Democracy is on the ballot and I suspect a number of these individuals would rather it wasn’t. They want democracy to vanish. Autocracy is their jam.

Standard

Leave a comment