writing

Writing 101 – Day 9 … Recharging

Writing and not writing, taking a break from typing, not from observing.

pa070343Our day nine assignment for Writing 101 is to create a post about what we do when we are not writing. I consider these “breaks” to be a separation from the keyboard, but not a complete divorce from the process of writing. All the inputs for written pieces are gathered as we live our lives.

Hemingway was very adamant about not writing when you were done for the day. Put it away. Recharge for the next go around. I agree with that sentiment. Hemingway likened this act to allowing a well to fill back up with water after being emptied. The image that works for me is a snow cornice hanging on an alpine cliff in a blizzard. It builds until the next time I’m typing, ice piling up, moaning, creaking, cracking, but holding on, until I re-open that document file, then crash! It all comes flowing out.

Putting writing aside serves two purposes. One is the aforementioned recharging of the creative batteries. But the other, observation, is just as important. Stepping away from the piece you are working on allows you to observe the world around you. When I’m involved in anthropocentric activities, I never miss the opportunity to people watch. I gather mannerisms, pick up dialogue, remember names.

Yes, I can be a real nosy bastard.

But even more enjoyable for me is getting away from people. My free time is often spent on the trail with my four-pawed friend and companion, Avalon. She loves water and so our adventures usually involve a lake or river. Time in the backcountry also presents unique opportunities for observation and gleaning new settings.

No matter how you spend it, time away from writing can be as important as the writing itself.

p6052291

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Standard

4 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Day 9 … Recharging

  1. What a lovely companion you have in Avalon! ❤ I think it's vital to have breaks like this to reload one's batteries and get new inspiration.
    Now I'm off with my Golden Retriever. Amazing, in Bonn we're having sunny 20° C at the moment! 🙂
    Wishing you a wonderful day,
    Dina x

    Like

Leave a comment