Rudolph vs. The Little Drummer Boy

It’s time for a new holiday tradition, a carol-off. My favorite Christmas song is the Little Drummer Boy. I say it’s time Rudolph got voted off the Island … of Misfit Toys. Do you agree?

Does he get your vote?

To me, the Little Drummer Boy has a transcendent appeal. Jingle Bells and Frosty are fun, but I think LDR reaches beyond mere holiday cheer. An impoverished boy giving the only gift he has, music, to a newborn peasant child. It’s something to muse while waiting in a Black Friday sale line. (Yes, I confess. I’m one of those people.) Songs about roasting chestnuts and melting snowmen just don’t affect me the same way.

One vote for the Little Drummer Boy. Put in a plug for your favorite.

Leave a Reply

